2012 America the Beautiful Quarters Uncirculated Coin Set

Today, April 24, 2012 at 12:00 Noon ET, the United States Mint will begin sales of the 2012 America the Beautiful Quarters Uncirculated Coin Set.

This set includes uncirculated versions of the five quarters issued for this year from the Philadelphia and Denver Mint. The 2012 America the Beautiful Quarters feature El Yunque National Park, Chaco Culture National Historical Park, Acadia National Park, Hawai’i Volcanoes National Park, and Denali National Park and Preserve.

The ten coins are mounted in a display folder, which features images from each park on the front. This is a change from prior years, when the front of the folder was solid black with white printing.

Each set is priced at $12.95, representing a big reduction from the price of $21.95 charged for the two prior year sets.

Coins included in the US Mint’s Uncirculated Coin Sets currently carry a brilliant finish. From 2005 to 2010, coins included in these sets carried a satin finish. The coins with a brilliant finish are generally better produced and possibly better handled than regular circulation strikes. The only differentiation the US Mint mentions is that the coins included in the set ” feature sharp, intricately detailed images.”

Later in the year, the US Mint has plans to release the 2012 America the Beautiful Quarters Circulating Coin Set, priced at $5.95. The coins in this set will be regular circulation strikes as opposed to the “uncirculated coins” with a brilliant finish included in the current product.

Facebook Twitter Email


  1. VA Bob says

    All these packaging changes are not a good thing IMO. It makes it harder to keep track of what I buy from year to year.

  2. Two Cents says

    I wonder what the Mint is going to do in 2021 when there will be only one ATB quarter – the Alabama Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site.

    Will they issue a large folder for just two unc. coins (P and D mints)? And what about the ATB Quarter Proof Sets, cu-ni and silver – only one coin in the plastic case?

    With the State Quarter series (1999-2008), they had six quarters in the final year. With the ATB Quarter series, there will be only one lonely quarter left. I almost feel sorry for it.

  3. Two Cents says

    Oops, the State AND DC/Territories Quarters series went from 1999 to 2009, comprising 56 coins total, the same as the ATB Quarter series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *